This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Mexico - Registration flags

[Banderas de matrícula]

Last modified: 2013-08-03 by juan manuel gabino villascán
Keywords: mexico | registration | matrícula | department (gulf) | department (pacific) | merchant | marine |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Registration flags

These ensigns shall be used by merchant ships of the Republic of Mexico, independently of the national ensign, in order to show the department they belong to. Their size is proportional to the size of the vessel.

From: [leg58]
Quoted by Ivan Sache, Dec, 19, 2001

In 1883 the British Consul at La Coruña referring to what I take to be the same sort of flag wrote that, "Spanish fly matriculation flag of vessel at mainmast to show what port she belongs to."

Legras shows the ensigns for six departments (Vera Cruz, Campeche, Tampico, Isla del Carmen, Tabasco, and Túxpam) located on the Gulf of Mexico. They are also shown in Siebmacher.

The ensigns for the other departments were apparently never published in a flag book. The archives of the SHOM have kept a gouach plate, signed by the Mexican Minister of War and Navy, and sent to the French authorities. The plate is entitled "Banderas nacionales, de matricula e insignias de la Republica mexicana" (National flags, registration flags and ensigns of the Mexican Republic).

In the 1889 edition of [f9r89], the registration ensigns are no longer shown, and it is therefore probable they were suppressed short before 1889.

David Potero, Dec, 22, 2001

In [ltg23] the registration flags (Banderas de matrícula) of 28 Mexican ports are illustrated, plus four more unidentified. The flags keep a very simple design as those used in 1851- ca. 1889, but by any reason the flags changed. According the author, the Mexican Navy Administration is divided also into two departments [Departamentos]: "Departamento del Golfo" and "Departamento del Pacífico"

Juan Manuel Gabino Villascán, January 20, 2002.

List of ports with their own registration flags

Current name (former name),
Municipality -if the case-.
State 1858 - ca. 1889 Ca. 1923
Matamoros Tamaulipas X X
Tampico Tamaulipas X X
Túxpam Veracruz-Llave X X
Lobos Veracruz-Llave   X
Veracruz Veracruz-Llave X X
Alvarado Veracruz-Llave X X
(Puerto México from 1900 to 1936)
Veracruz-Llave X X
Frontera Tabasco   X
Villa Hermosa
(Formerly San Juan Bautista de Tabasco), Centro
Tabasco X
(as San Juan
Baustista de Tabasco)
Ciudad del Cármen
(formerly Isla del Cármen)
Campeche X X
(as Laguna)
Campeche Campeche X X
Progreso Yucatán X X
Cozumel Quinta Roo   X

As listed by [leg58] and [ltg23]

Current name (former name),
Municipality -if the case-.
State 1858 - ca. 1889 Ca. 1923
Ensenada Baja California   X
Puerto Libertad, Pitiquito Sonora X  
Guaymas Sonora X X
Santa Rosalía, Mulegé Baja California Sur   X
Loreto Baja California Sur   X
Bahía Magdalena, Comondú Baja California Sur X X
La Paz Baja California Sur X X
San José del Cabo, Los Cabos Baja California Sur   X
(as San José)
Altata, Navolato Sinaloa   X
Mazatlán Sinaloa X X
San Blas Nayarit X X
Manzanillo Colima X X
Maruata Michoacan de Ocampo X  
Acapulco Guerrero X X
Puerto Ángel Oaxaca X X
Salina Cruz Oaxaca X X
Puerto Arista (formerly La Puerta), Tonalá Chiapas X
(as Tonalá)
Puerto Madero
(formerly San Benito Soconusco), Tapachula
Chiapas X
(as Soconusco)
(as Tapachula)

As listed by [leg58] and [ltg23]

Anything below this line was not added by the editor of this page.