This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Governor-General (Nigeria)

Last modified: 2022-10-22 by bruce berry
Keywords: governor-general | nigeria | lion | crown |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Željko Heimer and Graham Bartram, 03 Jan 2003

See also:

Governor-General of Nigeria (1960 - 1963)

On 01 October 1960 Nigeria gained independence from the United Kingdom. An all Nigerian Executive Council was established headed by a Prime Minister and a Governor-General was head of state. The country was a federation of three regions - North, East and West, with Lagos as the Federal Capital. Each of the regions was headed by a Premier with a Governor as ceremonial head.

On 01 October 1963 Nigeria became a Federal Republic within the British Commonwealth of Nations. The Governor-General was replaced by a President as Head of State.

In Flags of the World (1971) [bar71] EMC Barraclough writes that the flag used by the Governor-General followed the same pattern as that used by the Queen's representatives in other territories of the British Empire (later Commonwealth). That is a flag with a dark blue field with the Royal Crest of the lion and crown in the centre and the name of the territory on a yellow scroll beneath.
Jarig Bakker, 02 Jan 2003