This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Eijsden (The Netherlands)

Limburg province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: eijsden |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Eijsden municipality Shipmate Flagchart :
adopted 8 May 1984

See also:

Eijsden municipality

Number of inhabitants (1 Jan 2003): 12.007; area: 21,90 km². Settlements: Eijsden (seat), Gronsveld, Mariadorp, Mesch, Oost-Maarland, Rijckholt, Withuis.
Eijsden is in south Limburg, between Maastricht and Belgium (not to be confused with Eisden in Belgian Limburg). It is virtually part of Maastricht; Eijsden, Oost and Breust formed a lordship, belonging to the County of Valkenburg, which became part of the Northern Netherlands in 1644.
The flag has the Burgundy cross from the time when the Country of Valkenburg (Land van Valkenburg) belonged to Burgundy. The cross nearly obliterates some red balls, which have come from the Coat of Arms of Gronsveld, which became part of Eijsden in 1943. (see: <>).
Jarig Bakker, 26 November 1999

Eijsden old flag

[Eijsden old flag] by Jarig Bakker, 20 Apr 2005
adopted 16 Nov 1966

Eijsden is a former municipality in Limburg province on the Belgian border on the road Maastricht - Luik; in 1981 Eijsden merged with Gronsveld to form the new municipality of Eijsden.
Flag: five stripes of yellow, red, white, red and yellow, proportioned 1:1:6:1:1, with on white a red raguly saltire (Burgundian cross) towards the hoist.
Adopted by municipal resolution 16 Nov 1966.
The Burgundian cross may be derived from the last owners of the Lordship, the De Geloes family.
Source: DerkWillem Visser's "Gemeentevlaggen en wapens Koninkrijk der Nederlanden", 2001.
Jarig Bakker, 20 Apr 2005

Eijsden Coat of Arms

[Eijsden Coat of Arms] image from the Eijsden municipal website.

Granted 16 Jul 1983