This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Bielsko county (Poland)

Powiat bielski, Śląskie voivodship

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: bielsko-biala |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Bielsko county flag] image by Jens Pattke 22 May 2011 Gminy (districts) in Bielsko county: See also:

Bielsko county flag

Bielsko County (Polish: powiat bielski) is a unit of territorial administration and local government (powiat) in Silesian Voivodeship, southern Poland. It came into being on January 1, 1999, as a result of the Polish local government reforms passed in 1998. Its administrative seat is the city of Bielsko-Biała, although the city is not part of the county (it constitutes a separate city county). The county contains three towns: Czechowice-Dziedzice, 13 km (8 mi) north-west of Bielsko-Biała, Szczyrk, 14 km (9 mi) south of Bielsko-Biała, and Wilamowice, 12 km (7 mi) north-east of Bielsko-Biała.

The flag of Bielsko County is vertically divided blue and red (1:2), covered in the center with the figures of the coat of arms, a gold-white eagle. The golden half eagle in a blue field symbolizes Upper Silesia - a coat of arms of Duchy of Cieszyn. The white half eagle with a golden girdle in a red field symbolizes the Krakow Land. Presented in this way both coming out of the historic lands of the Bielsko County. Flag and Coat of Arms adopted on March 31, 2011 by the County Council.
Jens Pattke 22 May 2011

(1) Bielsko county website
(2) Law (in Polish)

Bielsko county coats of arms

[Bielsko county CoA] image by Jens Pattke 22 May 2011