This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Vale de Cambra Municipality (Portugal)

Last modified: 2015-09-05 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: vale de cambra | cow | bordure | grape(bunch) | bees(4) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Vale de Cambra municipality] 2:3 image by Sérgio Horta, 7 Nov 2010
See also: External links:

About the Flag

It is fairily typical Portuguese municipal flag, with the coat of arms centred on yellow and black gyronny background.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 3 June 2007

Coat of arms

[Vale de Cambra municipality CoA] image by Sérgio Horta, 7 Nov 2010

The arms are Vert a cow passantOr with bordure Sable surmounted by four alternating bees Or and bunches of grape of the same fruited Purpure. Mural crown argent with five visible towers (city rank) and white scroll reading in black upper case letters "VALE DE CAMBRA". This resulted from the upgrade of the municipality seat from town to city satus in 1993.07.02, with trivial changes (crown towers and flag background).
António Martins-Tuválkin, 3 Jun 2007

Previous Flag

[Vale de Cambra municipality] image by Sérgio Horta,

The previous flag was plain yellow and the arms born a four-tower crown, adopted and published in the official journal Diário do Governo : II Série in 1947.05.16.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 7 Nov 2010

Version without Coat of Arms

[Vale de Cambra municipality plain] 2:3 image by António Martins-Tuválkin, Apr 2010

Plain (monocoloured) Portuguese subnational flags are not allowed to have variations without arms: plain flags always carry the coat of arms.
Jorge Candeias, 18 July 1999

Flag and coat of arms adopted and published Diário do Governo : III Série in 1994.10.04.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 3 June 2007

Presentation of Vale de Cambra

Vale de Cambra (a.k.a. Vale de Cambra do Minho) municipality had 24 798 inhabitants in 2001 and consists of 7 communes covering 147,33 km². It is part of Aveiro District, traditional province Beira Litoral, 1999 ref. adm. region Norte subregion Entre Douro e Vouga.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 3 Jun 2007


back to Municipalities of Portugal click here