This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Vila Nova de Gaia Municipality (Portugal)

Concelho de Vila Nova de Gaia, Distrito do Porto

Last modified: 2014-10-25 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: vila nova de gaia | tower(black) | grapes(yellow) | escutcheons(2) | quinas(2) | hornblower | base(wavy) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Vila Nova de Gaia municipality] 2:3 image by Sérgio Horta, 11 Apr 2007
See also: External links:

About the Flag

It is a fairly typical Portuguese municipal flag, with the coat of arms centred on a black and yellow gyronny field (city rank).
These arms and flag are in use upon the upgrade of the municipality seat to city status in 1984.06.28 but not yet officialized (according to Sérgio Horta’) and are a trivial change of the former arms and flag.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 10 Apr 2007

Coat of arms

[Vila Nova de Gaia municipality CoA] image by Sérgio Horta,

The arms are Argent above two barrulets wavy Azure in base a tower Sable with port and windows Argent with a hornblower issuant from its top dressed Gules and playing Or between two bunches of grapes Or leafed Vert and two inescutcheons Azure charged with 13 plates each set 2+3+2+3+2+1 in chief. Mural crown argent with five visible towers (city rank) and white scroll reading in black upper case letters "VILA NOVA DE GAIA".
António Martins-Tuválkin,

Vila Nova de Gaia was upgraded to a city on 28 June 1984
António Martins-Tuválkin, 10 Apr 2007

Version without Coat of Arms

[Vila Nova de Gaia municipality plain] 2:3 image by António Martins-Tuválkin, Apr 2010

Previous Flag

[Vila Nova de Gaia municipality (1986-1994)] 2:3 image by Sérgio Horta, 9 Apr 2007

The former arms and flag were adopted and published in the official journal Diário do Governo : I Série in 1934.09.10. These included the usual town attributes: four visible crown towers and yellow and black quartered flag.
António Martins, 10 Apr 2007

Presentation of Vila Nova de Gaia

Vila Nova de Gaia municipality had 288 749 inhabitants in 2001 and consists of 15 communes covering 170,82 km². It is part of Porto District, traditional province Douro Litoral, 1999 ref. adm. region Entre Douro e Minho, current C.C.R. / NUTS II Norte, and NUTS III Grande Porto. Vila Nova de Gaia, or simply Gaia, is on the left bank of Douro facing Oporto. Spelled "Cale" in Latin, its name originated the word "Portugal", from "Portus Cale(m)", "the harbour of Cale/Gaia".
António Martins-Tuválkin, 10 Apr 2007

back to Municipalities of Portugal click here