This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Grand National Assembly of Turkey

Türkiye Büyük Millet Meclisi - TBMM

Last modified: 2016-02-13 by ivan sache
Keywords: grand national assembly of turkey |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag]         [Flag]

Flag of the Parliament, two versions - Images by Tomislav Šipek, 25 February 2015, and Randy Young, 9 January 2016, respectively.

See also:

Presentation of the Parliament

The Grand National Assembly of Turkey (Türkiye Büyük Millet Meclisi; website), usually referred to simply as the TBMM or Parliament (Meclis), is the unicameral Turkish legislature. It is the sole body given the legislative prerogatives by the Turkish Constitution. It was founded in Ankara on 23 April 1920 in the midst of the Turkish War of Independence. The parliament was fundamental in the efforts of Mustafa Kemal Atatürkand his colleagues to found a new state out of the remnants of the Ottoman Empire in the aftermath of the First World War.

The flag of the Parliament is white with the Parliament's seal in the center. The lettering appears in red letters on a white ring (photo, photo, photo, photo, photo), or, more recently, in white letters on a golden yellow ring (photo).

Esteban Rivera & Clayton Horner, 8 January 2016