This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Oneida County, New York (U.S.)

Last modified: 2022-11-19 by rick wyatt
Keywords: new york | oneida county |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Oneida County, New York] image located by Daniel Renteria, 20 July 2022

Known Flag - indicates flag is known.
No Known Flag - indicates it is reported that there is no known flag.

Municipal flags in Oneida County:

See also:

Description of the flag

Oneida County (235,469 inhabitants; 314,200 ha; seat, Utica), located in central New York State, was named after the Iroquoian tribe of Oneida. The county was carved out of Herkimer county in 1798 but subsequently lost parts of its territory (1805: formation of Jefferson and Lewis Counties; 1816, formation of Oswego County).
Ivan Sache, 3 May 2008

Oneida County uses a new flag now. It no longer has the river, has a more precise map and most notably, has a seal in the center of the map.
Daniel Renteria, 20 July 2022

County Seal

[Seal of Monroe County] located by Paul Bassinson, 8 December 2016
Image obtained from

Earlier flag

[Flag of Oneida County, New York] image by John Scordato, 4 April 2002

A yellow flag, with a navy blue map of the state overlain by a larger scale white map of the county, a medium blue line marking the Erie Canal running across both maps, and a circle of blue stars surrounding the names of three cities in the county.  The county name and date are prominently written in navy blue in the upper hoist.
John Scordato, 4 April 2002

The circle of 26 blue stars shown on the county map must represent the 26 towns of the county: Annsville, Augusta, Ava, Boonville, Bridgewater, Camden, Deerfield, Florence, Floyd, Forestport, Kirkland, Lee, Marcy, Marshall, New Hartford, Paris, Remsen, Sangerfield, Steuben, Trenton, Vernon, Verona, Vienna, Western, Westmoreland and Whitestown. The three towns of Rome (34,950 inh.), Sherrill (3,147 inh., the smallest city in the New York State) and Utica (60,651 inh.) have their name written on the map and are not represented by a star. - County map on the county website.

Ivan Sache, 3 May 2008 

Oneida County Sheriff's Office

[Flag of Oneida County Sheriff's Office, New York] image by Randy Young, 8 October 2018

The Oneida County Sheriff's Office is the primary law enforcement agency in Oneida County, New York. According to the Sheriff's Office website, the agency is organized into three divisions Civil, Correction, and Law Enforcement with each division consisting of multiple subordinate units. The Oneida County Sheriff's Office employs more than 400 individuals full-time and part-time, and has an annual budget of more than $30 million. (

The flag of the Oneida County Sheriff's Office can be found in several photographs online, most notably at the agency's  Facebook page. Specific photos can be found at and
in addition to the Facebook page. The flag consists of the Sheriff's Office patch centered on a black field. The patch is in the shape of a black shield outlined in silver. In the center of the shield is a silver six-pointed star with the New York state seal set upon it. Arched over the star are the words "ONEIDA COUNTY" and "SHERIFF'S OFFICE," with the letters "N." and "Y." flanking the bottom point of the star.
Randy Young, 8 October 2018