This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Canadian Provinces, Territories, Regions and Cities

Link Page

Last modified: 2012-12-22 by rob raeside
Keywords: canada | provinces: canada |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Canadian provinces and territories




Cities and Municipalities

Only five Canadian provinces have counties: Quebec, Ontario and the Maritimes (New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island). British Columbia has Regional districts. While working on NAVA's Canadian municipal flags project, this caused confusion in at least one case: Alberta has some "counties", though these are large rural municipalities, not another level of administration. The situation is indeed less complex in other provinces, because Quebec is the largest, second most populated province, has vast northern territories, and has the oldest settlement history.
Luc Baronian, April 23, 2005