This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Georgia: Municipal flags

Last modified: 2021-09-25 by ivan sache
Keywords: georgia |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Other link of interest:

Municipal divisions in Georgia

Per the last administrative reform (2014), Georgia is now divided into 12 self-governing cities and 67 self-governing communities.

Klaus-Michael Schneider & Ivan Sache, 3 November 2018

Self-governing cities

Self-governing communities

Municipal symbols

The Law prescribes that each municipality shall have its own symbols. Each municipality shall organizes, in partnership with the State Council of Heraldry at the Parliament of Georgia (website), a contest to determine which flag and coat of arms best represent its territory. During the contest, the State Council of Heraldry shall held a workshop and other events to teach the locals with the rules of vexillology and heraldry. Then the Municipal Council, in partnership with the State Council of Heraldry's advisors, shall select the best proposal, which is forwarded to State Council of Heraldry for final approval. The Municipal Council shall eventually approve the symbols.
When a contest does not yield significant results, it can be repeated. If there is still no result, the Municipal Council can commission the State Council of Heraldry to create the symbols.
As a result of this joint effort, 50 out of the 67 Georgian municipalities have adopted their own flag and coat of arms.

The State Council of Heraldry at the Parliament of Georgia, 28 February 2012


Ivan Sache, 6 February 2011