This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Greece: Local administrations

Last modified: 2015-08-15 by ivan sache
Keywords: greece |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

External resources:

Local administrations since 1 January 2001

From 1 January 2011, in accordance with the Kallikratis Plan, the administrative system of Greece was drastically changed. The former 13 regions, 54 prefectures and 1033 municipalities and communities were replaced by 7 decentralized administrations (αποκεντρωμένες διοικήσεις), 13 regions (περιφέρειες, unchanged), 74 regional units (περιφερειακές ενότητες) and 325 municipalities (δήμοι), further subdivided into municipal units (δημοτικές ενότητες).

Olivier Touzeau, 27 October 2012

List of decentralized administrations and regions

The decentralized administrations are each made of two or three regions, except Attica and Crete, which are made of a single region of the same name.

Ivan Sache, 28 October 2012