This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

The 20th Olympic Winter Games: Turin 2006

Torino 2006

Last modified: 2023-06-10 by zachary harden
Keywords: olympic games | turin | italy | winter | summer |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[White version of the flag of the 20th Olympic Winter Games (Torino 2006)] image by Arnaud Leroy
Posted by Ivan Sache, February 12, 2005

[Blue version of the flag of the 20th Olympic Winter Games (Torino 2006)] image by Arnaud Leroy
Posted by Ivan Sache, February 12, 2005


See also:

Other sites:

Appointment of the 20th Olympic Winter Games to Turin

Turin, Italy, was elected the host city of the XXth Winter Olympic Games on 19 June 1999 in Seoul (Korea), during the 109th International Olympic Commitee Session. The five other cities that put forward bids were Helsinki, Finland; Klagenfurt Austria, Poprad-Tatry, Slovakia; Sion, Switzerland; and Zakopane, Poland. Opening date of the Games is 10 February 2006; closing date of the Games is 26 February 2006.
Ivan Sache, February 07, 2005.

The Parade of Flags

The Opening Ceremony of the XX Torino 2006 Olympic Winter Games took place on Friday 10 at the Olympic Stadium, formerly known as "Stadio Comunale di Torino" on February 10, 2005.

" (...) Light games, breathtaking choreographies, moments of great spectacle and then the parade of national delegations, once again united by the sportís values of peace and fraternity. Three hours of partying, enriched by the presence of numerous international and Italian guests on the stage and heads of state and government on the stands, together with 35 thousand spectators.

Among the most exciting moments, the raising of the flag by Giorgio Armani, with the model from Torino Carla Bruni and the athletesí parade, which lasted nearly an hour with the standing ovation of the public upon the entrance of the Italian delegation. "

From the Official XX Torino 2006 Olympic Winter Games web site

As highlights we may say:
  • Delegations flags seem to be proportioned 2:3
  • There were 79 (seventy-nine) delegations marching during the parade.
  • Greece (GRE) marched first, and Italy (ITA) at the end of the parade.
  • The Republic of Korea (KOR) and the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (PRK) marched together under a single flag.
  • The delegations marched following the Italian alphabet.
  • Ethiopia and Madagascar take place for the first time in Winter Olympic Games.

    Juan Manuel Gabino Villascán, February 2006.

    	Codes:			International Olympic Committee Website
    	Italian names:		Placards from a video of the Opening Ceremony of the XX Torino 2006 Olympic Winter Games.
    	Opening ceremony:	February 10, 2006.
    	Images:			Athens 2004 Olympic Games - Official web-site, excepting
    				Unified Korea.
    	"Unifed Korea" flag:	Juan Manuel Gabino Villascán.
    Country (Italian)					Country (English)			     ABR.    FLAG
    1. Grecia Greece GRE
    2. Albania Albania ALB
    3. Algeria Algeria ALG
    4. Andorra Andorra AND
    5. Argentina Argentina ARG
    6. Armenia Armenia ARM
    7. Australia Australia AUS
    8. Austria Austria AUT
    9. Azerbaigian Azerbaijan AZE
    10. Belgio Belgium BEL
    11. Bermunda Bermuda BER
    12. Bielorussia Belarus BLR
    13. Bosnia Erzegovina Bosnia and Hercegovina BIH
    14. Brasile Brazil BRA
    15. Bulgaria Bulgaria BUL
    16. Canada Canada CAN
    17. Repubblica Ceca Czech Republic CZE
    18. Cile Chile CHI
    19. Cina1 People's Republic of China CHN
    20. Cipro Cyprus CYP
    21. Corea2 Korea
    22. Costa Rica Costa Rica CRC
    23. Croazia Croatia CRO
    24. Danimarca Denmark DEN
    25. Estonia Estonia EST
    26. Etiopia Ethiopia ETH
    27. Ex-Repubblica Iugoslava di Macedonia Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia MKD
    28. Finlandia Finland FIN
    29. Francia France FRA
    30. Georgia Georgia GEO
    31. Germania Germany GER
    32. Giappone Japan JPN
    33. Gran Bretagna Great Britain GBR
    34. Hong Kong, Cina Hong Kong, China HKG
    35. India India IND
    36. Iran3 Islamic Republic of Iran IRI
    37. Irlanda Ireland IRL
    38. Islanda Iceland ISL
    39. Isole Vergini Virgin Islands ISV
    40. Israele Israel ISR
    41. Kazakistan Kazakhstan KAZ
    42. Kenya Kenya KEN
    43. Kirghizistan Kirghyzstan KGZ
    44. Lettonia Latvia LAT
    45. Libano Lebanon LIB
    46. Lituania Lithuania LTU
    47. Liechtenstein Liechtenstein LIE
    48. Lussemburgo Luxembourg LUX
    49. Madagascar Madagascar MAD
    50. Moldova4 Republic of Moldova MDA
    51. Monaco Monaco MON
    52. Mongolia Mongolia MGL
    53. Nepal Nepal NEP
    54. Norvegia Norway NOR
    55. Nuova Zelanda New Zealand NZL
    56. Paesi Bassi Netherlands NED
    57. Polonia Poland POL
    58. Portogallo Portugal POR
    59. Romania Romania ROM
    60. Russia5 Russian Federation RUS
    61. San Marino San Marino SMR
    62. Senegal Senegal SEN
    63. Serbia e Montenegro Serbia and Montenegro SCG
    64. Slovacchia Slovakia SVK
    65. Slovenia Slovenia SLO
    66. Spagna Spain ESP
    67. Stati Uniti d'America United States of America USA
    68. Sud Africa South Africa RSA
    69. Svezia Sweden SWE
    70. Svizzera Switzerland SUI
    71. Tagikistan Tajikistan TJK
    72. Taipei Cinese Chinese Taipei TPE
    73. Thailandia Thailand THA
    74. Turchia Turkey TUR
    75. Ucraina Ukraine UKR
    76. Ungheria Hungary HUN
    77. Uzbekistan Uzbekistan UZB
    78. Venezuela Venezuela VEN
    79. Italia Italy ITA

    1 Official name in Italian: Repubblica Popolare Cinese 2 Although marched together under the "Unified Flag", both Koreas compete independently: Repubblica di Corea Korea KOR Repubblica Democratica Popolare di Corea Democratic People's Republic of Korea PRK 3 Official name in Italian: Repubblica Islamica dell'Iran 4 Official name in Italian: Repubblica di Moldova 5 Official name in Italian: Federazione Russa