This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Panama - Subdivisions

Last modified: 2021-06-12 by rob raeside
Keywords: panama |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


Today I received news about the last province of Panama that has flag but remained unknown yet. This province is Bocas del Toro that has an unofficial flag (mainly used by sport events).
Then there are the following flags:
4 provinces with official flag (Veraguas, Colon, Chiriqui and San Blas)
1 provinces with flag of unknown status (Los Santos)
2 province with unofficial flag (Herrera and Bocas del Toro)
1 province with official proposal (while is used as unofficial flag) (Cocle)
1 province with unofficial proposal, without official flag and no info about unofficial flag (Panama)
1 province without official flag and no info about unofficial flag (Darien)
1 comarca with official flag (Ngobe Bugle)
2 comarcas with de facto flag (Wargandi and Mandungandi)
1 comarcas with no news (Embera/Wounan) but surely without official flag yet.
Jaume Ollé, 22 August 2002

The statutes of the Partido Panameñista, Chapter III,  incudes a complete list of the subdivisions.
- Provincia of Bocas del Toro - made of the distritos of  Bocas del Toro, Changuinola and Chiriquí Grande.
- Provincia of Coclé - made of the distritos of Aguadulce, Antón, La Pintada, Nata, Olá and Penonomé.
- Provincia of Chiriquí - made of the distritos of Alanje, Barú, Boquerón, Boquete, Bugaba, David, Dolega, Gualaca, Remedios, Renacimiento, San Lorenzo, Tolé and San Félix.
- Provincia of Colón - made of the distritos of Colón, Chagres, Donoso, Portobelo and Santa Isabel.
- Provincia of Darién - made of the distritos of Chepigana and Pinogana.
- Provincia of Herrera - made of the distritos of Chitré, Las Minas, Los Pozos, Ocú, Parita, Pesé and Santa María.
- Provincia de Los Santos - made of the distritos of Guararé, Las Tablas, Los Santos, Macaracas, Pedasí, Pocrí and Tonosí.
- Provincia de Panamá - made of the distritos of Arraiján, Balboa, Capira, Chame, Chepo, Chimán, La Chorrera, Panamá, San Carlos, San Miguelito and Taboga.
- Provincia de Veraguas - made of the distritos of Atalaya, Calobre, Cañazas, La Mesa, Las Palmas, Montijo, Río de Jesús, San Francisco, Santa Fe, Santiago, Soná and Mariato  
- Comarca Emberá (Darién) - made of the districts of Cémaco and Sambú.
- Comarca Kuna de Madungandí.
- Comarca Kuna Yala.
- Comarca Ngöbe Buglé - made of the districts of  Kankintú, Kusapín, Besiko, Mironó, Nole Duima, Muna and Ñurun.
- Comarca de Wargandí
Ivan Sache, 7 October 2006

The Provinces



See also:

Municipalities and Districts