This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Bosnia and Herzegovina: Subdivisions

Last modified: 2023-03-25 by rob raeside
Keywords: bosnia and herzegovina |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Subdivisions of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Bosnia and Herzegovina is divided into two entities:
- the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina (Federacija Bosne i Hercegovine), often called, unofficially Croatian-Muslim Federation, is a federation of ten cantons;
- Republika Srpska (Serb Republic), a unitary state.
On 5 March 1999, the town of Brčko, disputed by the two entities, was made the separate Brčko District.

Željko Heimer & Jan Zrzavy, 10 March 2000


(F: Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina; S: Republika Srpska)


(F: Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina; S: Republika Srpska)

The Populari database of municipal symbols

[The links and material referred to in this section are, unfortunately, no longer available].

An article on the use of symbols (coat of arms, in the first place) by the municipalities in Bosnia and Herzegovina is a summary of a research made by Amar Čaušević and his team at the Think Tank Populari - Centre for Socio Economic Studies (website), from Sarajevo.

The database made as a part of the research is available on line.
The current municipalities are listed there, with their current coat of arms or emblem, the adoption year, basic data on the municipality (name, entity, canton/region, pre-war municipal status), source of the data (Statutes, Decision or other source; with link to its full text in PDF), pre-1992 coat of arms if any, coat of arms used in the 1990s (war and post-war period), and the consititutional statutes (that is, whether the constitutionality of the coat of arms was disputed and whether the dispute was resolved).

Željko Heimer, 19 May 2011