This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Slovenia: Municipal flags

Last modified: 2023-03-18 by rob raeside
Keywords: slovenia | municipality | local community |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Other link of interest:

  • Heraldika d.o.o., the commercial branch of the Slovenian Heraldic and Vexillologic Society, which is FIAV member, and is responsible for quite a number of modern Slovenian municipal flags and coat of arms.

Administrative divisions in Slovenia

When independence was proclaimed in 1991, Slovenia retained the administrative subdivision with 65 communities (občina) until 1st January 1995, when a new division was made with 145 municipalities (as it was common to name them now in English, but still called občina in Slovene). In 1998 the number of municipalities was further increased to 181, and at the same time 11 of them were given the status of Civic Municipality (mestna občina). In 2002, the new municipality of Šmartno pri Litiji was formed, while another 17 new municipalities were formed in 2006, giving a total of 210 municipalities. Another two municipalities, Mirna and Ankaran, were created in February and June 2011, respectively.

The Statistical Office of the Republic of Slovenia issued in 2007 a colour, bilingual Slovene / English booklet available in PDF format, entitled Slovenske regije v številkah / Slovene regions in figures.
The booklet includes a detailed statistical presentation of each statistical region, with a list of the municipalities, shown on a map on the last page of the booklet.

Željko Heimer, Valentin Poposki & Ivan Sache, 20 May 2012

Display of municipal flags in Slovenia

The most common way of displaying the municipal flags in Slovenia is a vertical hoisting in front of the municipal building. This building is often equipped with three flag poles, an echo of the Socialist period when three flags were being hoisted: from viewer's left to right, the national flag of Yugoslavia, the flag of the People's, then Socialist, Republic of Slovenia and the flag of the League of Communists of Yugoslavia. The three poles are most often use today for hoisting the Slovene national flag on the central pole and two municipal flags on the two lateral poles.

Željko Heimer, 15 October 2002

Coat of arms on Slovene car license plates

In 1993, 58 coats of arms that were "adopted" to be used on car license plates, some of them being later changed. The plates are produced by KIG, a company based in Ig. Basically these are those municipalities that have a Administrative Unit, that is, an office authorized by the Ministry of Interior that deals with the juridical matters of state (identity cards, passports, habitat registration, car licenses, driving licenses etc.). Therefore the coats of arms (emblems) on license plates are actually the symbols of the administrative units and neither those of the municipalities nor of the towns.
Each municipality has the right to use its own symbol (that could also be a coat of arms). Those municipalities that have in their capital also a seat of Administraitve Unit and that have changed their original "coat of arms" of 1993, also gained a new coat of arms on their licence plates (for example, Domžale).
Many small municipalities, which do not have an Administrative Unit located on their territory, should use the emblem ("coat of arms") of the municipality that hosts the Administrative Unit responsible for them. For instance, there is a whole set of small municipalities surrounding Ljubljana that have the coat of arms of Ljubljana on their license plates (for example, Brezovica, Ig, Škofljica, Medvode and Dol).

Valt Jurečič (Heraldika d.o.o.), 15 December 2001 (translation by Željko Heimer)

Index of Slovene municipalities

Each municipality is presented with its symbols on a separate page of this website. In this list, municipalities with an official bilingual status are listed under their two names starting with the names in Slovene (Slovene name / Italian or Hungarian name). The civic municipalities are marked in bold.

Index of Slovene local communities

A local community (Krajevna skupnost) is a part of a municipality. Here is the list of those communities for which information of the symbols is available.

Index of Slovene statistical regions

Slovenia is divided into 12 statistical regions (statistična regija). These regions have no administrative meaning and therefore no flags, though at least some of them may match historical regions.
As listed on the aforementioned official booklet, the 12 regions are:

  1. Pomurska
  2. Podravska
  3. Koroška
  4. Savinsjka
  5. Zasavska
  6. Spodnjeposavska
  7. Jugovzhodna Slovenia
  8. Osrednjeslovenska
  9. Gorenjska
  10. Notranjsko-kraška
  11. Goriška
  12. Oblano-kraška

Željko Heimer & Ivan Sache, 30 December 2007