This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Ecuador - Cantons and Municipalities

Last modified: 2024-02-17 by rob raeside
Keywords: ecuador | subdivisions |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Cantons and Municipalities Represented in FOTW




24 (Veinticuatro) de Mayo Sucre Manabí
Aguarico Nuevo Rocafuerte Orellana
Alausi Alausí Chimborazo
Alfredo Baquerizo Moreno (Jujan) Alfredo Baquerizo Moreno Guayas
Arajuno Arajuno Pastaza
Arenillas Arenillas El Oro
Ambato Ambato Tungurahua
Antonio Ante Atuntaqui Imbabura
Archidona Archidona Napo
Atacames Atacames Esmeraldas
Atahualpa Paccha El Oro
Azogues Azogues Cañar
Baba Baba Los Rios
Babahoyo Babahoyo Los Rios
Balao Balao Guayas
Balsas Balsas El Oro
Balzar Balzar Guayas
Baños de Agua Santa Baños de Agua Santa Tungurahua
Biblián Biblián Cañar
Bolívar Calceta Manabí
Bolívar Bolívar Carchi
Buena Fé San Jacinto de Buena Fé Los Rios
Caluma Caluma Bolívar
Calvas Cariamanga Loja
Camilo Ponce Enríquez Camilo Ponce Enríquez Azuay
Cañar Cañar Cañar
Carlos Julio Arosemena Tola Carlos Julio Arosemena Napo
Cascales D.Cascales Sucumbios
Catamayo Catamayo Loja
Cayambe Cayambe Pichincha
Celica Celica Loja
Centilena del Cóndor Zumbi Zamora-Chinchipe
Cevallos Cevallos Tungurahua
Chaguarpamba Chaguarpamba Loja
Chambo Chambo Chimborazo
Chilla Chilla El Oro
Chillanes Chillanes Bolivar
Chimbo Chimbo Bolivar
Chinchipe Zumba Zamora-Chinchipe
Chone Chone Manabí
Chordeleg Chordeleg Azuay
Chunchi Chunchi Chimborazo
Colimes Colimes Guayas
Colta Cajabamba Chimborazo
Coronel Marcelino Maridueña Marcelino Maridueña Guayas
Cotacachi Cotacachi Imbabura
Cuenca Cuenca Azuay
Cumandá Cumandá Chimborazo
Cuyabeno Tarapoa Sucumbios
Daule Daule Guayas
Déleg Déleg Cañar
Durán Durán Guayas
Echeandia Echeandia Bolivar
El Carmen El Carmen Manabí
El Chaco El Chaco Napo
El Empalme Velasco Ibarra Guayas
El Guabo El Guabo El Oro
El Pan El Pan Azuay
El Pangui El Pangui Zamora-Chinchipe
El Tambo El Tambo Cañar
El Triunfo El Triunfo Guayas
Espejo El Angel Carchi
Espíndola Espíndola Loja
Flavio Alfaro Flavio Alfaro Manabí
Francisco de Orellana Puerto Francisco de Orellana Orellana
General Antonio Elizalde Bucay Guayas
Girón Girón Azuay
Gonzalo Pizarro Lumbaqui Sucumbios
Gonzanamá Gonzanamá Loja
Guachapala Guachapala Azuay
Gualaceo Gualaceo Azuay
Gualaquiza Gualaquiza Morona-Santiago
Guamote Guamote Chimborazo
Guanando Guano Chimborazo
Guano Guano Chimborazo
Guaranda Guaranda Bolívar
Guayaquil Guayaquil Guayas
Huamboya Huamboya Morona-Santiago
Huaquillas Huaquillas El Oro
Ibarra Ibarra Imbabura
Isabela Puerto Villamil Galapagos
Isidro Ayora (Soledad) Isidro Ayora Guayas
Jama Jama Manabí
Jaramijó Jaramijó Manabí
Jipijapa Jipijapa Manabí
Joya de los Sachas La Joya de los Sachas Orellana
Júnin Junín Manabí
Lago Agrio Nueva Loja Sucumbios
La Libertad La Libertad Santa Elena
La Maná La Maná Cotopaxi
Las Lajas La Victoria El Oro
Las Naves Las Naves Bolívar
Latacunga Latacunga Cotopaxi
La Troncal La Troncal Cañar
Limón Indanza General Leonidas P. Morona-Santiago
Logroño Logroño Morona-Santiago
Loja Loja Loja
Lomas de Sargentillo Lomas de Sargentillo Guayas
Loreto Loreto Orellana
Macará Macará Loja
Machala Machala El Oro
Manta Manta Manabí
Marcabeli Marcabeli El Oro
Mejía Machachi Pichincha
Mera Mera Pastaza
Milagro Milagro Guayas
Mira Mira Carchi
Mocache Mocache Los Rios
Mocha Mocha Tungurahua
Montalvo Montalvo Los Rios
Montecristi Montecristi Manabí
Montufar San Gabriel Carchi
Morona Morona Morona-Santiago
Nabón Nabón Azuay
Nangaritza Nangaritza Zamora-Chinchipe
Naranjal Naranjal Guayas
Naranjito Naranjito Guayas
Nobol Narcisa de Jesus Guayas
Olmedo Olmedo Manabí
Olmedo Olmedo Loja
Oña Oña Azuay
Otavalo Otavalo Imbabura
Pablo Sexto Pablo Sexto Morona-Santiago
Paján Paján Manabí
Palanda Palanda Zamora-Chinchipe
Palenque Palenque Los Rios
Palestina Palestina Guayas
Pallatanga Pallatanga Chimborazo
Palora Palora Morona-Santiago
Paltas Catacocha Loja
Pangua El Corazón Cotopaxi
Paquisha Paquisha Zamora-Chinchipe
Pasaje Pasaje El Oro
Pastaza Pastaza Pastaza
Patate Patate Tungurahua
Patricia Pilar San Jacinto de Buena Fé Los Rios
Paute Paute Azuay
Pedernales Pedernales Manabí
Pedro Carbo Pedro Carbo Guayas
Pedro Moncayo Tabacundo Pichincha
Pedro Vicente Maldonado Pedro Vicente Maldonado Pichincha
Pelileo Pelileo Tungurahua
Penipe Penipe Chimborazo
Pichincha Pichincha Manabí
Píllaro Píllaro Tungurahua
Pimampiro Pimampiro Imbabura
Piñas Piñas El Oro
Pindal Pindal Loja
Playas General Villamil Guayas
Portovelo Portovelo El Oro
Portoviejo Portoviejo Manabí
Pucará Pucará Azuay
Pueblo Viejo Puebloviejo Los Rios
Puerto López Puerto López Manabí
Puerto Quito Puerto Quito Pichincha
Pujili Pujilí Cotopaxi
Putumayo Puerto Carmen Sucumbios
Puyango Alamor Loja
Quero Quero Tungurahua
Quevedo Quevedo Los Rios
Quijos Baeza Napo
Quilanga Quilanga Loja
Quinindé Rosa Zárate Esmeraldas
Quinsaloma Quinsaloma Los Rios
Quito Quito Pichincha
Riobamba Riobamba Chimborazo
Río Verde Rioverde Esmeraldas
Rocafuerte Rocafuerte Manabí
Rumiñahui Sangolquí Pichincha
Salcedo San Miguel Cotopaxi
Salinas Salinas Santa Elena
Salitre (Urbina Jado) El Salitre Guayas
Samborondón Samborondón Guayas
San Cristóbal Puerto Baquerizo Moreno Galapagos
San Fernando San Fernando Azuay
San Francisco de Milagro Milagro Guayas
San Juan Bosco San Juan Bosco Morona-Santiago
San Lorenzo San Lorenzo Esmeraldes
San Miguel San Miguel Bolívar
San Miguel de Los Bancos San Miguel de Los Bancos Pichincha
San Miguel de Urcuquí Urcuquí Imbabura
San Pedro de Huaca Huaca Carchi
Santa Ana Santa Ana Manabí
Santa Clara Santa Clara Pastaza
Santa Cruz Puerto Ayora Galapagos
Santa Elena Santa Elena Santa Elena
Santa Isabel Santa Isabel Azuay
Santa Lucía Santa Lucía Guayas
Santa Rosa Santa Rosa El Oro
Santiago Santiago Morona-Santiago
Santo Domingo de los Tsáchilas Santo Domingode los Colorados Santo Domingo de los Tsáchilas
San Vicente San Vicente Manabi
Saquisili Saquisili Cotopaxi
Saraguro Saraguro Loja
Sevilla de Oro Sevilla de Oro Azuay
Shushufindi Shushufindi Sucumbíos
Sigchos Sigchos Cotopaxi
Sigsig Sigsig Azuay
Simón Bolívar Simón Bolívar Guayas
Sozoranga Sozoranga Loja
Sucre Bahía de Caráquez Manabí
Sucúa Sucúa Morona Santiago
Sucumbios La Bonita Sucumbíos
Suscal Suscal Cañar
Taisha Taisha Morona-Santiago
Tena Tena Napo
Tiwintza Tiwintza Morona-Santiago
Tizaleo Tizaleo Tungurahua
Tosagua Tosagua Manabí
Tulcán Tulcán Carchi
Urdaneta Catarama Los Rios
Valencia Valencia Los Rios
Ventanas Ventanas Los Rios
Vinces Vinces Los Rios
Yacuambi Yacuambi Zamora-Chinchipe
Yaguachi Yaguachi Guayas
Yanzatza Yanzatza Zamora-Chinchipe
Yaruquí Quito Pichincha
Zamora Zamora Zamora-Chinchipe
Zapotillo Zapotillo Loja
Zaruma Zaruma El Oro

Note: Full list of all cantons at

Municipal Flags

Do we know that any city other than Quito has its own flag?
Whitney Smith's meaning seemed to be that the civil form of the national flag was for any citizen to use, each province had its own flag that only the provincial government could use, and cities had no flags, only the Municipal Buildings flag to symbolize the authority of a city government. Quito, as the capital, may have been given a special privilege--or Smith may have been wrong, or the facts may have changed since then. So-- do we know that any city other than Quito has its own flag?
John Ayer, 10 October 1999

I spoke with some Ecuadorians and it seems that some sort of districts (I assume that subdivisions of the provinces or perhaps municipalities formed by one town and several villages) have flags owned. In fact they spoke about a large range of flags in Ecuador and some confusion arose between the people. Perhaps later the government decided simplify the situation.
Jaume Ollé, 12 October 1999